Talk On Corners Anniversary – The Royal Albert Hall – 19/10/2017

Introduction – 2 Weeks Ago

So.  Today is Friday the 13th.  In a little under a week’s time, I will be at the Royal Albert Hall fulfilling a dream I’ve had since 1998, watching The Corrs play live.

Back then, on St Patrick’s Day The Corrs performed, perhaps their most important gig.  Their breakout gig.  The gig where Mick Fleetwood announced that they were playing with passion.  The gig where the UK tuned in live on the BBC and watched them play their brand of Irish pop rock.  Here we are, almost 20 years later, and they are still playing with the same passion, and I am still completely infatuated by their product, or should be hopelessly addicted?

Why am I writing an introduction to a gig blog post before a gig? Well, simply, I don’t think I’ll finish and publish this on time, so it’s less about being an individual blog, and more about gathering some of my thoughts, and setting the scene before the madness ensues. We’ll see.

So, what has happened so far..

There was an album announcement, and a gig announcement at the same time.  This happened online at more or less 9am (I presume) exactly 1 month ago, Wednesday the 13th September.  A facebook friend posted a link to the Corrs website announcing the album and gig (thanks Mentari, join us next time!) I think it must have been around 9.10?  That link lead to a page with a link for a ticket presale.  

Wednesday Ticket Presale

Well, I got right onto that!  I ordered the best tickets the presales link would give me, for Erica and myself.  Row 6 seats 8 and 9 (and that was after refreshing a couple of times and letting my initial allocation go, but realising they weren’t getting any further forward.  I’d find out soon enough that the front 5 rows were reserved for promoters, and ‘Front 5 Row’ VIP ticket packages, so I must have been onto that presale very, very early to get these seats as it seemed they allocated them from seat one onwards.

A Change of Gig Partner

Within the day, Erica had decided that it was going to be too awkward to go, and to leave Juliette (our daughter – see Kew Gardens blog).  Taking her to London isn’t straight forward, and leaving her for a couple of nights is hard since she’s only young.  Erica  decided that there will be other gigs (hopefully!), but she’s only young once and is getting older everyday like the rest of us, except, somehow quicker!  One of our closest Corrs friends Lonneke is left without a ticket at the moment.   She is over in the Netherlands, and her job, and maybe her lack of smart phone doesn’t make it so easy to communicate with during the week, even on exceptional times such as these when tickets go on sale at very short notice!  So, conveniently, as it turns out, I have a spare now.  Things have worked out quite nicely.

Thursday Ticket Presale

The following day, there is a different series of presales, including one that very few people seem to have accessed.  As I bought the tickets yesterday, it crossed my mind that I could try again on Friday for better tickets, during the main ticket sale.  It was of course this Thursday presale that the VIP front 5 row tickets first appeared in.  I deliberated over this a LOT.  I had ample opportunity from initially seeing these tickets to buy one, but I already had a ticket, and with a friend. I didn’t know what to do.  From 9am until 1pm, I had front row tickets in my basket.  Front row centre.  Seats 15, 16, 17, 18… I annoyed most of my close Corrs friends, I called Erica I looked for someone to make the decision for me, and I eventually reached my decision to forget about it.  Then I saw that someone else was struggling to get a ticket via our little corner of the internet – thecorrsclub.com.  Mike didn’t have a ticket, but wanted to go, and seemed unable to find a ticket with a good cost to seat location ratio – the furthest away seats were priced equal to my row 6 ones.  I messaged him, and eventually called him, and agreed to buy a ticket for him.  My deliberation now happened all over again.  1 or 2 tickets.  It’s oh, so easy to just click 2, but I was worrying about what to do with my existing tickets, and how to explain to Erica that I had multiple tickets.  The risk, and the money…  I bought 1.

I now had in my email inbox, confirmations for 3 tickets.  2 row 6 and 1 front row centre.

I was happy with my decision.  I won’t regret it.  There will be others if I do!

I told the story to Renata, about me having her seat (Row 1, Seat 6) in the basket, and me deciding not to buy it.  She said to me, if I had bought it, perhaps she wouldn’t have been able to get a ticket, so maybe it was meant to be that I didn’t.  I like this way of thinking, it wasn’t meant to be 🙂

An Opportunity Presents Itself

Corrs fans are a great bunch.  I’m sure I’ve spoke about this before, but ’ve made some life long friends.  Friends that I met up with during the hiatus, we shared weddings, holidays, our lives, and others who I only see at gig times.  We chat online, and discuss The Corrs, but not necessarily much else.  It is through one of these friends that an opportunity arose.  Dave had a spare ticket available, second row, and it was too good to refuse.  By this point, I had an idea of some others who didn’t have a ticket, so I was less concerned about selling on my own ticket, so I put the word out.  I now have 3 tickets with my name on them, and none of them are where I’m sitting.  I sell my ticket onto another friend, who also ‘upgrades’ and then sell that ticket on again to someone else who otherwise, probably wouldn’t be able to go. We Corrs fans don’t make these things too easy do we!

Tickets are being shipped – at the time of writing, I have Mike’s but not the other 2, despite them being ordered the day before!  I have a parking ticket for Marc and Cara, which was posted out by RAH, so it’s with me, 450 miles away from them.  I will meet them on the day of the gig so they can get into the car park.  I have a ticket for Louise, who will be sitting with Lonneke, and I have a silly o’clock flight booked from Edinburgh to Stansted, parking booked at the airport, so I’ll be leaving the house in essentially the middle of the night on the morning of the gig, and then a bus from Stansted into London for about 10.30am.

The Day Today

It’s gig day!  I wake up from a bad, and short nights sleep.  It’s 04.15.  My flight leaves at 07.00.  Last night, I made sure everything was packed ready to go, including my breakfast, so I could throw on my clothes and leave.  I’m in the car and away by 04.35 with plans to eat on route, clean my teeth in the airport, and enjoy the flight into Stansted where I’ll meet Lonneke, and take the bus into London.

Driving, all ok.

Parking all ok.

Shuttle bus into the airport, ok.

I check my phone, the EasyJet app is suggesting delays.

 

Flight Delights

I make my way to the gate, and we board as normal. I’m in the 2nd last row of the plane, great for a quick exit at the other end I think.

Once we become a captive audience, the captain announces there is fog at Stansted and a delay of 40 minutes, which is pushed back to 1 hour and 10.  We park up in the cargo area of Edinburgh airport to power down the engines, and presumably let the next plane onto the gate.  I try to text Lonneke to tell her I’ll be late, but it won’t send.  I call my mobile carrier once their lines open at 07.30 to see what is going on. They activate roaming and I can send the international message.  She is also sitting in a plane belonging to another fog delayed flight.  Convenient.  We sit still for about an hour and 10 minutes, giving me plenty of time to learn the lyrics to the two new songs, SOS and Solomon.

 

London Baby!

Eventually, we get to Stansted, following some time in a holding pattern, it turns out Lonneke has just landed too.  We meet in arrivals and try to find the bus that we’re more than a little bit late for – 1 hour in fact.  We queue for maybe another 30 or 40 minutes and are just waved onto the bus with a quick check of our destination on the tickets.  We arrive at Baker Street a little after midday, and do some sight-seeing.

The Actual Gig Blog

As I in the first part of this blog I’d complicated the ticket situation somewhat, I had a few people to meet and a few more people I knew were coming and wanted to meet, and talk with.   I’m going to say upfront, time seemed tight. If you wanted to talk and I didn’t talk to you or I wasn’t around much, I’m sorry. There were so many people I knew and others coming up and chatting too.

Pre-Gig (Usually called The Queue, but it’s Seated!)

We’ve arrived at the venue, following an enjoyable afternoon looking at some of London’s sights, namely Harrods, and The V&A museum.

Collector’s Instincts – The Merchandise Stall

Gig merchandise is always fun. Being a collector of course I always want everything!

The concept of selling things to a captivated audience who you know for sure already like what your product supports is a great one. They must sell a LOT of merchandise!  So I slot into the queue and get a couple of bits. The programme looks especially nice, being specifically for this show, rather than the usual full tour effort. The photos look recent, either from Jupiter Calling recording, or possibly even some early rehearsal sessions.

Somewhere A Clock Is Ticking

It’s quickly approaching 7 and I still have to pass a ticket on to someone. Of course the reality is there is plenty of time left, but these situations are made to worry about. This is made worse by the door numbers on the tickets being different.  Louise arrives and, we have a brief chat before I make my apologies about handing over the ticket and leaving her alone so I can I go around to door five where my ticket states, and enter, register with the live nation VIP desk,  get my gift and lanyard.  I had incorrectly assumed that the gift would be the same as last time around.  A nice round Corrs branded glass, which I never managed to get unfortunately.  Maybe one day I’ll get one.  This gift is a scented candle in a glass with a Corrs Royal Albert Hall sticker on it, and a matching sticker on the box.  It’s nice, but perhaps not so nice as the glass.  The lanyard is really nice though, again, gig specific, a lovely memento of tonight’s gig.  After this, I quickly realise the door you enter from makes more or less no difference since everyone ends up walking all around the venue buying merchandise and getting drinks from the bar!  I find some other friends and chat for a bit, then it’s time to make my way to my seat. Finding the entrance to the arena floor is another story, and I end up walking into what looks like a basement with 3 or 4 other bemused fans, but it turns out to be the right way in so all is well.

The Royal Albert Hall

This gig is not only to promote the new album which is out next month, but is also a Talk on Corners 20th anniversary event. The album was released 20/10/1997 and where better than the place that played such a key role in the popularity of the Corrs, and what a place it is.  

From the outside the building is beautiful, even with the building works that are going on at the moment. The interior doesn’t disappoint either. The layout is interesting. Being a circular building, there are doors all around, with different doors mentioned on different tickets.

IMG_3492
This was after the gig, lit up in splendour

 

There is a lovely charm and definite grandeur in there.  It’s special, and we all know it. The stage is low compared to most venues, and the lack of photographer pit and barrier means the audience are right in the mix.  I’m in the second row, and I’m closer than I’ve been on the front row on the past. Despite the capacity of 5 thousand plus, the intimacy is not lost at all. Seats are proper theatre style fold downs, with velour fabric covers.  This place is designed for seated gigs, but with the promise of new songs tonight,  I don’t think that really matters. It’s going to be one to remember.

The Bit About The Gig

I’m one of the last to take my seat. I’ve been down the front chatting with friends who are in the front row. I snapped a quick photo of the set list, sitting right there on the stage.  I could easily reach out and grab it, but what would Sharon do then? 🙂  Actually, it turns out that the venue security staff have been instructed that photos of the set list are not allowed to be taken.  I explain that I used a camera and am not uploading it, or even looking at it now. I want this one to be a surprise!  He is either happy with this, or has realised that I’m not going through and deleting the photo, either way, he goes back to his seat.  We chat for a bit longer, but time is getting on, and so off to my seat,  and what a great seat to be watching from.  The lights dim, and we’re on.

IMG_3277
Turns out I could photograph and read it from my seat!

Intro (the musical variety, not another blog introduction!)

I had a draft of this which stated that I was really hoping they watched back, and decided to open with Moran’s Return like they did almost 20 years ago.  I always thought it was an incredibly brave opener, with poor Sharon playing a solo violin on a dimly lit stage, with that Corrs logo light, for what would become, perhaps the biggest night in their lives, but then, at the time, it was just about The Corrs being The Corrs, and it was perfect.

As it turns out, I wasn’t disappointed.  No, they didn’t open with Moran’s Return, but they instead chose to stick with the theme of an Irish traditional sounding tune

The piano onstage is lit, and Jim starts to play. A second light illuminates Sharon who adds her violin to the mix, and is rewarded by an immediate round of applause.  It’s clear from the start that this set, and this gig is going to be dictated by The Corrs, and it’s not all about the Talk On Corners retrospective – it’s about moving forwards too. It’s a lovely piece. Somehow familiar, but not known at the same time.  It’s beautiful.

Bulletproof Love

Following the instrumental introduction is a new song.  Playing a new song must get any band nervous, even one as experienced as the Corrs.  Playing a new song as an opener  shows confidence – perhaps as much confidence in your fans as in your music – but what a way to start. It’s a slow and quiet song. It starts with Andrea singing accompanied by her and playing her ukulele and some minimal guitar from Anto.  From the sound, I assume this is what a Corrs song with T Bone Burnett influence sounds like, but that’s just a guess.  Anyway, it was a brave intro to the gig, and it worked.   The response is excellent. The song is excellent. Great choice.

Forgiven, Not Forgotten

So, how do you follow-up a new, unheard song?  Why not choose a set list veteran. A staple of your career, the title track of your debut album. Forgiven is always well received, and tonight is no different.  It’s very well received in fact. You can feel the enthusiasm. We are all just as keen to hear the oldies as the new stuff.

Radio

The stage lights guide us to Jim who is stood holding an acoustic guitar.  I suspect I know what is going on, and those familiar chords ringing out prove me right.  Radio is another crowd pleaser and goes off without a hitch. Radio is one of those songs that they are expected to play.  I enjoy it, and always have, but we’ve discussed at length that this is something that surely can’t continue if their repertoire is to continue growing as it is in the last two years.  More songs is a great thing, but gigs aren’t getting any longer!

IMG_1944-cor
Does he listen to the radio?

An Interlude Where I Talk About… Clothes?!

I should say Jim was looking very smart in a dark grey / black outfit. His sisters are also clad in black, perhaps an unintentional coincidence, or a planned throwback to the outfits of old on this night to celebrate old and new.  It never fails to amaze me that Sharon can play violin, move around AND wear heels like that all at once!  Anyway, they look as timeless as their music sounds. A visual representation of So Young even.

IMG_2081-cor
Black is the colour

What Can I Do

Everyone loves What Can I Do.  I’m sure that more than a few people in the hall tonight have this song to thank for them discovering The Corrs.  Andrea moves slowly towards her microphone stand during that oh so recognisable guitar intro in a flirty sort of dance. The song starts slow, but builds up nicely as always.  Sharon mouths each and every word, off mic.  She watches Andrea smiling, just as we all are, and dances along as if she is enjoying it as much as we are.  She raises her violin, and plays the first few notes.  We’ve seen this show before, rehearsed to perfection at a thousand concerts before, it’s not new, but it’s something we all love, and it’s right in front of me, yeah ee yeah ee yeah ee yeah 🙂

Road To Eden

The audience respond euphorically to WCID, then there is a pause.  Probably only a millisecond longer than usual, but it’s definitely there.  Is it the apprehension of playing a new song after such a massive hit, or perhaps it’s to let us all settle down into silence before a quieter number?  Whatever it is, it has me on tenterhooks, I think we all are.  It’s gonna be alright.  After gaining the unequivocally the best attention possible we are serenaded into this event by Jim picking at his acoustic guitar, and a strong bass intro from Keith. Our anticipation is rewarded with a beautiful ballad. Sharon whimsically brushes those violin strings oh so gently and later Anto joins in with the perfect set of high notes with his electric guitar.  Another world exclusive, first hear, we are all part of this beautiful moment, it seems wrong that we the few, only 5 or so thousand people are allowed to witness this. Oh, and that violin!!

Bring On The Night

My set list says “(Jim starts)” but the beam of white light shining down from the lighting rig is very much centre stage.  Of course, it is Jim’s keyboards that start, with some simply drum accompaniment, and the subtle vocals as this song builds in the euphoric fashion through it’s whole length.  We all know that oh so brief doo dloo do do that Sharon plays which announces The Night has arrived.  I’m glad this stayed over from the White Light tour, it’s such a great song.  I adore the violin bridge added for the live version.  Adore it!

Son of Solomon

When I first heard Solomon, I fell in love instantly.  This isn’t a new experience for me, but it’s an unusual one.  I have to confess that I printed a little cheat sheet out for this, and SOS, to learn the lyrics before hand.  This was perhaps the one good thing to come from my delayed flight.  I’m glad to see I wasn’t the only one singing along, such a fantastic song, and as good live as we’d expect, with three percussion stages building up through bodhran, regimented, almost military quick beat building to climax with a slower deeper beat, accompanied with soft flowing violin and oh so simple breathing –  ah, ah, ah from Andrea.  The effect is nothing short of captivating.  

Little Wing

Before knowing about the Corrs, most of us knew Dreams.  I also knew Little Wing, but my introduction wasn’t the guitar shredding, rock drums and ringing bells version of Hendrix, it was by my first favourite band. Playing acoustically, and calling themselves the Acoustic Hippies From Hell, in combination with the Hothouse Flowers – Def Leppard.  It has whistles, and piano, and acoustic guitar, and to my rose-tinted ears, has more in common with the Corrs version than the original (I urge go search it out).  

IMG_1462-cor
Fly little wing, I want her to fly – wait, she is actually flying!

So, right up front, I’m going to say, I love that this is back.  I also have to say that the lack of tin whistle intro that I once attempted to learn (and failed) is a little disappointing, the rest of this mesmerising number though, was played to perfection.  And Anto, there are no words, but I think the post solo, mid song applause already showed that.  I love it!

IMG_2839-cor
Our Hendrix 🙂

Lough Erin Shore

Everybody loves an acoustic Irish number.  Those extra tin whistle and violin rolls (this probably isn’t the word, but it fits for me!) in the live version are wonderful.  And then there is that drum solo, as the song reaches climax. Forever to be associated as the old intro (see Live In London if you don’t know what I mean), but hear, more of a closing, my hair still stands on end, just as it did when I heard the prerecorded intro version when I first saw them live, here in London in fact, back on 20th December 2000.

Another Brief Interlude

It’s by the band this time though, I’m not talking about clothes again!  They are changing the stage, setting up the cajon and other percussion bits for Caroline.  They are setting it up on the left of Andrea, not the right.  They are setting it up right in front of my friend Mike.  He is a big Caroline fan, and I purchased the ticket on his behalf through a presale he couldn’t access. Row A, seat 15 – the front row Corrs ticket I had in my possession but didn’t get to use.  Obviously she knew he was coming!

Summer Sunshine

Amidst the excitement, as a proxy for Mike, and whilst tapping him on the shoulder (which probably annoyed him, sorry!) to point and go, she’s right there! I missed the obvious.  Where has Andrea gone?  Two dim red lights illuminate the piano, and an even smaller than usual figure.  We saw hints of this two years ago during the whole White Light EPK / Promo phase.  Summer Sunshine with an Andrea piano intro.  She sings, slowly at first, throwing the audience off, who jump into the chorus a little early, and correct with a small chuckle. I think some thought it was a mistake, but I think it was intentional.  Borrowed Heaven is represented on the set list again, in a new and beautiful way.  It’s no Even If, but i’m in heaven right now, and I don’t wanna come down.  There is even some extended violin in there as if this cake was in need of any more cherries on top, and…  “Just me and the Albert Hall.”

Ellis Island

This always well received through the White Light tour acoustic set, and tonight was definitely no exception.  I can see Ellis Island becoming a real fan favourite that I hope it sticks around for the (presumably) upcoming tour to promote Jupiter Calling.  It is fantastic both lyrically, and musically, and belongs on the set list.

Dear Life

I’m going to go out there and say this is a Sharon song.  Andrea has the ukulele out again and it’s a slow intro with just her and Anto on guitar.  Sharon is singing along, off mic, to every word, and smiling and nodding to someone, possibly Jim, at the other side of the stage. It’s a lovely song, and, like the other new ones, a song I need to hear more of.  Being introduced to a song live is great, but not being able to go back and listen again a few hundred times is frustrating!

Runaway

Piano’s are gorgeous things, but they are also really expensive.  I commend our favourite sibling band by making full use of this one, by now having Caroline sit in that stool, and playing what is probably the most recognisable Corrs song to date, no less beautiful for it’s years, and also made no less beautiful by Andrea asking the crowd “will you sing it with us” mimicking like a flirty conductor, even getting down on her knees completing the perfect moment, before an impromptu lyric extension leaves us all singing the words at the wrong time. Classic Andrea, and one of those moments that reinforce why we love her so much.  Another thing that was great here, is the volume level on Jim’s mic.  You could really hear Jim, more than I recall in previous performances, and it helps to make this sound even more amazing!

IMG_2346-cor
I’m not alone, tell me you feel it too

Joy Of Life

The Corrs love to close with an instrumental, so why not do it twice in one night.  I’d say sorry for the spoilers if you are eagerly hanging on my every word, and feeling giddy each time you read another song title, just as I did hearing the introductory notes through this night, but we all know what they will close with tonight!  Joy is, umm, a joy. The audience gets to their feed, and claps religiously, and of course as tradition dictates sings along to the few words that now exist in this instrumental number. One, two, three, four!

Interval (30 mins)

Well, it says 30 minutes, but I swear it was over in 5, maybe at a stretch 10.  Some time to chat with friends again, including some brief words with Mathias.  It’s a real shame they don’t have 4 hour intervals, so many friendly faces and so much to say!  I’m still standing as the lights go down, probably the last person standing in the whole arena as they walk out on stage again, as I let the disabled man next to me take his seat. It’s a 2 part gig, there is a brief interval. We don’t know why, but hey, why not. I mean, they are going to play more song, More, Songs. There are MORE SONGS!

Butter Flutter

Have you ever been in love? I think I am in love with this song, but I need to hear it more.  It’s fun and different, it’s like a tease.  I think I’m going to really enjoy this album.  It’s definitely something on my mind. Just don’t google the title.

Another Interlude – More Clothes

So The Corrs have re-emerged refreshed and redressed!  We’ve had discussions in the past of outfit re-use through Corrs tours, wearing the same, or very similar outfits night after night. I swear the White Light tour had only 2 or 3 outfits reused through the whole tour, and other tours have been no different.  Black is the colour of our true loves clothes, with the exception of the Borrowed Heaven tour where the choice seemed to be the brightest of colours, which was refreshing. And here we are again, our Corrs are colourful.  Blending beautifully with the lighting on the stunning Royal Albert Hall organ in the background, especially when lit in red or purple.

Only When I Sleep

Another oldie that finds it’s way into all of the set lists, and I love it no less.  Tonight, Andrea seems a little more relaxed than normal, and her routine is executed to perfection.  I always love watching the contrast of Sharon’s text book performance on backing vocals, and Andrea’s seemingly ad hoc emotion driven performance with maximum crowd focus, and gestures.

Queen Of Hollywood

I want to stand up so badly at this point, but no one else is, and the person sitting next to me took a good 30 seconds to stand at Joy of Life (he had a stick, and perhaps was disabled) so I have better reason not to be the first to stand up this time around.  I LOVE Queen Of Hollywood.

IMG_2767-cor
Hand prints – check. Flashing cameras – check. Now, where’s that limousine?

 

SOS

Andrea announces “This is our current single at the moment, it’s called SOS.”  I had a cheat sheet (not a cheap seat) for this one, and scrubbed up on the lyrics on the plane too.  The first time I heard it, I didn’t like it – back to the old ways – but it grew on me, and I now prefer it to Solomon, except live. I won’t say it didn’t impress, but it was perhaps my least favourite of the set tonight, there is something about it that simply didn’t differentiate it from the studio version.  It was good, but it didn’t have that something that I feel the Corrs can usually and when live, until the end “Turn away from the pain” and the people behind me were probably cursing me for my standing on end hair obscuring their view!

White Light

The smile from Andrea at the abrupt end of this song is as wide as the song is good.  I love this live, and am so glad they are playing it again.  

So Young

The old favourites continue on this night of partial TOC retrospect.  All I can say is yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yah!

I Never Loved You Anyway

I’ve seen this played live a few times before too, but never with the level of audience participation we had on this night.  Everyone was standing by this point and happy to chant back to Andrea when prompted and clap along to the instrumental interludes as she plays her whistle. It’s a really fun song and felt great.  There is a great video on YouTube which shows a lot of us participating, including my arm from the second row at moments when others aren’t raised 😀

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dUvzgoBMIkc (credit to the poster – I’ll remove if requested)

Lovely videos from a really interesting vantage point!

IMG_3162
Hello boys I know you’re watching me, I think that I like it

Encore

At this point, most Corrs fans should be able to predict what is to come.  There are 3 omissions so far, two of which are obvious, as they tend to make up the closers at Corrs gigs, and the third, a little later than usual, but no less important.  In fact, the song probably as important as the original gig back on St Paddy’s day in 1998.

Dreams

Another fan favourite, perhaps at this point, all of the songs that aren’t on Jupiter Calling are fan favourites.

Breathless

I love that Andrea still opens this by panting into the microphone.  I always wonder if most of the audience are standing wondering what she is doing.  Any opportunity to practice singing backing vocals, which always seems to raise a smile or laugh from Sharon.  Dooo, dooooo. 🙂

Toss The Feathers.

We know the night is coming to an end when this number is played.  That bittersweet feeling returns.  This has been a really special concert, in a really special venue, and I feel proud to have been part of it.  As I bring this blog to a close, 2 days after the gig, I’m still on a bit of a post gig high.  The blues haven’t set in yet.  That’s got to be a good sign right?

IMG_3450-cor
Little Wing has been played, we can Toss these feathers now

The Next Day and Travelling Home

We had to head off after the gig very soon to get back to Marc and Cara’s babysitter to get their daughter, my god-daughter back home.  This meant I wasn’t around for post gig drinks and chats, some things are more important and I don’t regret it at all.  We had some good chat in the car, and I was able to post some pics on Instagram, though when we got back it was definitely bed time, having been awake 21 hours plus.  The next day was a chill out day, listening to the Corrs on the Chris Evans Breakfast show was a great, and then the trip to the airport..

More Flight Despair

Navigation told us it would take a little over an hour. My departure gate was closing at 15.45 with the flight due to leave 30 minutes later  Some maths was done, and a 14.00 departure from Marc and Cara’s was set.  Cara had kindly offered to drive me to the airport (thanks again!) so we all hopped in the car actually a little before.  It was immediately obvious that this wasn’t going according to plan.  The navigation was now reporting big delays due to an accident, and maybe the time of day. Our arrival time was now estimated as 15:35!  I remained quite relaxed, knowing nothing could be done, and Cara dutifully got me there.  We arrived at the Stansted drop off at 15:35 as estimated.  I rushed into the airport, getting my boarding pass out of my bag, and emptying my pockets into my bag in preparation for clearing airport security.   Disaster!  Airport security was backed up.  Huge queues and little time.  I’ve never been late for a gate closing, never mind missed a flight!  I take my belt and jacket off in the queue, and get ready to just stick my things in the tray and get through as quickly as possible.  I reach the front of the queue, and there is no tray.  I politely mention it to the staff. “Excuse me, there is no trays.”  “What do you expect me to magic them out of thin air.”  It’s a good job this woman doesn’t work in a public facing job, where part of her role is to reassure and assist the public isn’t it….

I get straight through the metal detector, but the bags are taking ages to come through, with most being diverted for manual search – including mine!  This has never happened to me!  It takes a long time for the 3 staff members to search all of the bags ahead of mine, but after an age, my time arrives.  I’m a little stressed, more than a little stressed, anxious, livid, insert more words here!  I’m asked if I have any liquids in my bag, I say no.  I’m asked if I have a can of juice in there.  Now, I’m quite a logical person, I’m good at drawing conclusions.  Could it be?  “There is a candle in there, a scented one, in a glass.” He replies “Yes, that’s it.  I can see it clearly on the screen, it’s a candle.”  He quickly searches for it.  He then checks my liquids and lets me refit my belt and put my jacket on again. Airport security were quick and efficient, great job, but it’s now 16.00.  This has not gone well.  I run through the airport – something I recommend everyone tries.  The way people look at you, and get out of your way, I suspect this is what it feels like to be a figure of importance, or authority, or perhaps even terror!  It’s 16.05 when I reach the distant land that is the EasyJet wing of Stansted.  I look at the screen and double-check my gate number.  81, it’s definitely 81.  But that’s not my flight number, and it says Belfast!  I ask the woman on the gate “Edinburgh?”  The response is terse…”Yes, the plane still isn’t here yet.”  I point out that the screen says Belfast and she looks a little less annoyed at me.  I join the queue, now a post gig like sweaty mess, and wait, for maybe 45 minutes until we board and leave. I’m lucky, and I’m going home!  The flight goes off without a hitch, and I get to the car and finish the hour or so drive home with little problem, aside from the pressure of the flight blocking my right ear so I’m virtually deaf.  It’ll heal.  What a couple of days it’s been! No part of me is glad it’s all over!

Thanks

I’d like to thank everyone who helped to make my night.  I won’t name you all, firstly because I’m terrible with names, but also because some of you may not wish to be named. Instead I’ll name those whom I spoke to most, and perhaps some of those I didn’t get to speak to as much as I’d have liked.  (If I mention you and you want removed, contact me via FB or thecorrsclub.com)

IMG_3489
Friends 🙂

In no particular order…

Lonneke – for putting up with me for the whole day, right from Stansted Airport, into London, and to the RAH via Harrods and the V&A museum.

Marc and Cara – Thanks again for putting up with me, feeding me, driving me around, and giving me a place to sleep.  Marc, it’s a shame you are so busy with work, we need to catch up properly some time soon!

Martin – I owe you a meal, sorry for skipping out on everyone when the bill arrived!

Maurs – we need a little more madness in our lives though, these one offs leave me hungry for more!  Next time I hope I succeed in my mission to find a local pub.

Dave – a pleasure as always.  Thanks for helping to make my night more special than it was going to be in the first place.

Mike – I told a few people that the perfect seat was 3 or 4 to your right, but in hindsight, I think you had it pretty much perfect.  There are few people in this world that I wouldn’t feel at least a little bitter towards for making me buy and hold on to that ticket, knowing what it means to me to be there.  You’re deserving of it, and it was a pleasure to help you out.

Norma – I’m sad that there wasn’t enough time to chat really, I always like catching up.  It’s amazing that you got to meet them again after all this time.

Richard – Great to see you and chat again. In a way, it’s nice that we ended up in different places this time. It means that there are excellent photos from both sides of the stage!

Renatta – you crazy Brazilian!  It’s always fun.

Miguel and the Mexican posse – we never seem to talk for long enough nowadays either.  I’m proud to be part of the Mexican row though, even if I was a little too far over to the left.  It would have been great to learn the full mystery of you story 😉

Louise – Thanks again for coming along and helping me out.  It was great to meet / re-meet / meet in real life, and I hope we can do it all again another time.

Den – it was a brief chat, and I wish it was longer.  Great to see you again.

Mathias – we finally meet (or perhaps we’ve met before, I don’t think so?)  Great to chat however brief it was.

Chelsea and Georgia – I love your enthusiasm, and it’s great to see another generation of Corrs fan coming through.

The Gig Monsters – I’ve forgotten your names again, so I hope you don’t mind me classifying you like this.  Welcome back to the mad Corrs crew, it was great to be on the great cash machine expedition of RAH 🙂

Yvonne – we spoke briefly, probably too briefly. Next time 🙂

Anyone I’ve missed.I hate the idea of naming people like this as it’s inevitable someone will be missed.  I can only say sorry.  Either I can’t remember your name, or I’ve forgotten.  My memory sucks, and names aren’t a strong point either.  If you saw and recognised me, and wanted to come over for a chat – do it next time. I’m actually a bit shy, and being bad with names means if I think I recognise someone, I won’t approach them and start a conversation just in case.

Finally, Erica. My wonderful wife who sadly couldn’t share this with me, and who has been quietly sitting next to me on the sofa as I write this, being annoyed by language questions.  Thanks for letting me go again.  You know it means the world to me, and that we need to get to one of these together again though!  It’s never the same without you.

One comment on “Talk On Corners Anniversary – The Royal Albert Hall – 19/10/2017

  1. Loved reading this Chris, sounds like it was such an amazing night! Wish I could’ve been there but waiting for the youngest little Corrs fan to be born 🙂 Hopefully see you on tour next year somewhere!

Leave a comment